Player of the Year


Player of the Year



The Australia New Zealand Player of the Year award is back for Season 7. All ANZPT main events will qualify for the all valuable POY points as will other selected events.

Approximately AUD$ 17 ,000 in prizes will be awarded to the player who achieves the highest points during ANZPT Season 7 in accordance with the ANZPT overall points programme.

Not only will ANZPT players have the chance to share in the tournament prize pool – the overall point champion has the opportunity to become a sponsored player.

The Australia New Zealand Player of the Year Champion will win sponsorship to:

  • Asia Championship of Poker (ACOP) Sponsorship includes Main Event, accommodation and USD$1,000 towards travel.

Sponsorship will apply to Season 10 APPT.

Terms and conditions apply. In particular, in order to claim a prize the winner:

  • must have complied with all terms and conditions of participation in ANZPT events;
  • may be required to sign a Sponsored Player Agreement. (This will require the player to wear clothing that displays sponsor logos exclusively for all tournaments in which the player will participate as a sponsored player).

Failure to do so will result in the winner no longer being entitled to claim the prize and the prize will be awarded to the next leading points player.

Note: ANZPT reserves the right to change the Australia New Zealand Player of the Year schedule and criteria at their discretion.

All player names are recorded as per payout sheets for each event. Please ensure your name is being recorded correctly - and legibly - by the payout team so that your points can be calculated accurately. ANZPT bears no responsibility for any points miscalculated due any error in the spelling of player names.

Please check this page approximately one week after each event and email as soon as possible if you believe points have been miscalculated.

Points Weighting:

Player of the Year points will be awarded on different scales depending on the buy-in and type of the event.

ANZPT Season 7 main events in Australia or New Zealand with buy-ins of AUD or NZD$2,000-$3,000 will award participation points, plus the set bonus points scale according to the POY points table.

ANZPT Season 7 or designated APPT Season 9 main events with buy-ins of greater than AUD$3,000 will award participation points, plus the set bonus points scale plus 25% weighting according to the POY points table. For example, for a field of 400+ players, the winner will receive 10 participation points, plus 87.5 bonus points (70*1.25).

Player of the Year Qualifying Events:


Event Venue Buy-In Main Event Dates
Aussie Millions Crown Melbourne AUD $10,000 + $600 January 25-February 1, 2015
ANZPT Perth Crown Perth AUD$2,050 + $ 250 February 11-15, 2015
ANZPT Sydney The Star Casino AUD$2,050 + $ 250 March 19- 23, 2015
ANZPT Melbourne Crown Melbourne AUD$2,050 + $2 50 October 16-20, 2015


Australia New Zealand Player of the Year Honour Roll:


Year Place
2014 1st David Lim 2nd Edison Nguyen 3rd Dean Blatt
2013 1st Iori Yogo 2nd Luke Brabin 3rd Pravin Harji
2012 1st Mishel Anunu 2nd Anthony Aston 3rd Didier Guerin
2011 1st Danny Chevalier 2nd Leo Boxell 3rd Jesse McKenzie
2010 1st Tony Hachem 2nd John Maklouf 3rd Andrew Scarf
2009 1st Tony Hachem 2nd Chris Levick 3rd Joel Dodds
ANZPT Leaderboard

2014 Player of the Year

Place Player Points
1 Aristomenis Stavropoulos 180.74
2 Yew Fatt 'Raiden' Kan 136.81
3 James Rann 135.38
4 Li-Ta Hsu 122.89
5 Joel Douaglin 109.44
6 Dimitrios Psaros 108.90
7 Anthony Legg 107.81
8 Lennart Uphoff 107.19
9 Stevan Chew 105.00
10 Bryan Huang 100.73